Geography: The Countries and Territories of North America

North America is a continent located in the almost entirely northern half of the Western Hemisphere. The continent is made up of three regions: Northern America, Central America and the Caribbean. The following are the countries and territories of North America:

Northern America

Country Capital Official Language(s) Demonym
 Bermuda (UK) Hamilton English Bermudan
 Canada Ottawa English, French Canadian
 Greenland (Den.) Nuuk (Godthåb) Greenlandic (Kalaalisut), Danish Greenlandic
 Saint Pierre and Miquelon (Fr.) Saint-Pierre French Saint-Pierrais, Miquelonnais
 United States of America Washington D.C. English American


Country Capital Official Language(s) Demonym
 Anguilla (UK) The Valley English Anguillian
 Antigua and Barbuda St. John’s English Antiguan, Barbudan
 Aruba (Neth.) Oranjestad Dutch, Papiamento Aruban
 Bahamas, The Nassau English Bahamian
 Barbados Bridgetown English Barbadian
 Bonaire (Neth.) Kralendijk Dutch, Papiamentu Bonairean
 British Virgin Islands (UK) Road Town English Virgin Islander
 Cayman Islands (UK) George Town English Caymanian
Clipperton Island (Fr.)
 Cuba Havana Spanish Cuban
 Curaçao (Neth.) Willemstad Dutch Curaçaoan
 Dominica Roseau English Dominican (stress on “ni”)
 Dominican Republic Santo Domingo Spanish Dominican (stress on “mi”)
 Grenada St. George’s English Grenadian
 Guadeloupe (Fr.) Basse-Terre French Guadeloupean
 Haiti Port-au-Prince French, Creole Haitian
 Jamaica Kingston English, Jamaican Patois Jamaican
 Martinique (Fr.) Fort-de-France French Martinic(qu)an, Martiniquais (m), Martiniquaise (f)
 Montserrat (UK) Plymouth; Brades English Montserratian
 Navassa Island (US)
 Puerto Rico (US) San Juan Spanish, English Puerto Rican
 Saba (Neth.) The Bottom Dutch Saban
 Saint Barthelemy Gustavia French Barthélemois(es)
 Saint Kitts and Nevis Basseterre English Kittitian, Nevisian
 Saint Lucia Castries English Saint Lucian
 Saint Martin (Fr.) Marigot French St. Martiner
 Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Kingstown English Vincentian
 Sint Eustatius (Neth.) Oranjestad Dutch Statian
 Sint Maarten (Neth.) Philipsburg Dutch St. Maartener
 Trinidad and Tobago Port of Spain English Trinidadian, Tobagonian
 Turks and Caicos Islands (UK) Cockburn Town English Turks and Caicos Islander
 US Virgin Islands (US) Charlotte Amalie English Virgin Islander

Central America

Country Capital Official Language(s) Demonym
 Belize Belmopan English Belizean
 Costa Rica San Jose Spanish Costa Rican
 El Salvador San Salvador Spanish Salvadoran
 Guatemala Guatemala City Spanish Guatemalan
 Honduras Tegucigalpa Spanish Honduran
 Mexico Mexico City Spanish Mexican
 Nicaragua Managua Spanish Nicaraguan
 Panama Panama City Spanish Panamanian

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s